From the director’s Desk………

From the director’s desk,

Greetings, students! I welcome you all on behalf of SIOM, and hope with all my heart that you are having an amazing start of the academic year. MBA is a tough job. Or so they say. It depends quite on your perspective, actually. However, today, I am not going to bore you all with something you already know.
It gives me immense pleasure to tell you something quite interesting today. It all started with a name- Wing Commander CDR Rakesh Sharma. Rings quite a bell, doesn’t it? Well, we did get to meet him personally, up close! Unbelievably true!

The first Indian to venture into space and conduct experiments for 7 days, 21 hours and 41 minutes. Perseverance is the only word I can think of right now, when I think about this herculean feat.
There was excitement in the air, so much you could’ve literally smelt it!
He had simplicity written all over himself. I was truly humbled by his presence, when he went up to the stage and started recounting all his experiences. It was as if, he had lived all them just yesterday.
And the way, in which everybody was listening, you could’ve heard a pin drop in the conference hall, which is normally bustling with activity.

All of his problem tackling techniques in space, and in life too, in addition to the spine chilling experiences of the Indo Pak war of 1970 was truly fantasising to hear. I felt as if I am magically teleported to the Airfield where all the action takes place. He related his experiences to the current world scenario, which was an anecdote for us as well as the students.
It was an amazing experience, to be honest. On that note, I bid adieu to all of you, and once again wish you an insightful academic year ahead!

 

Dr. Parag Kalkar,
Director,
Sinhgad Institute Of Management.

Leave a comment